Thirty-eight scientists, in various stages of their careers, have been selected by AGU sections and focus groups to receive awards in 2014.

In addition, 24 individuals have been chosen to present lectures under the annual Bowie Lecture Series as well as the Section and Focus Group Named Lecture Series. The Bowie Lecture was inaugurated in 1989 to commemorate the fiftieth presentation of the William Bowie Medal, which is is named for AGU’s first president and is the organization’s highest honor. Named lectures are designated by sections and focus groups to honor and memorialize distinguished scientists in their respective fields of science.

Awardees and named lecturers are selected for contributing meritorious work or service toward the advancement and promotion of discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity.

The individuals listed below will be recognized during the 2014 AGU Fall Meeting, to be held 15–19 December in San Francisco, Calif. Bowie lecturers are denoted by asterisks. All lectures will be videotaped for ­on-​­demand viewing and posted on the Fall Meeting website.

—Danica Williams, Program Manager, Member Relations, AGU; email: ­

Joint Award: Geodesy, Seismology, and Tectonophysics Sections

Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service
Stephen Hickman

Joint Lecture: Biogeosciences and Planetary Sciences Sections

Sagan Lecture
Microbial Communities: Tracing Growth Processes From Antarctic Lakes to Early Earth to Other Planets
Presented by Dawn Sumner

Joint Lecture: Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology Focus Group and Ocean Sciences Section

Emiliani Lecture
Climate and Life: A Human Retrospective
Presented by Peter B. deMenocal

Atmospheric Sciences Section

Ascent Award
Ken S. Carslaw
Meredith Galanter Hastings
Adam Sobel
Rodney J. Weber

James R. Holton Junior Scientist Award
Elizabeth Barnes
Timothy Merlis

Yoram J. Kaufman Unselfish Cooperation in Research Award
Zhanqing Li

Bjerknes Lecture*
Cross-Equatorial Flow and the Hadley Cell
Presented by Sir Brian Hoskins

Charney Lecture*
Grand Challenges in Understanding Clouds: From Ice Crystal Formation to Their Influence on Climate
Presented by Ulrike Lohmann

Biogeosciences Section

Sulzman Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring
Claudia R. Benitez-Nelson

Cryosphere Focus Group

Cryosphere Early Career Award
Ian Hewitt

Nye Lecture
Abrupt Climate Change: The View From the Past, the Present, and the Future
Presented by James W. C. White

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes Focus Group

G. K. Gilbert Award
Gary D. Parker

Luna B. Leopold Award
Guilio Mariotti

Sharp Lecture
Living Landscapes: Present and Past Interactions Between Coastal Sediments and Biota
Presented by Guilio Mariotti

Earth and Space Science Informatics Focus Group

Leptoukh Lecture
Trends in Computing for Climate Research
Presented by Bryan Lawrence

Geodesy Section

Geodesy Section Award
Tim Wright

Ivan I. Mueller Award for Service and Leadership
Carine Bruyninx

Bowie Lecture*
Global Change Geodesy: A Geophysical Perspective
Presented by Jerry Mitrovica

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism Section

William Gilbert Award
Nicholas Swanson-Hysell

Bullard Lecture*
Mercury’s Magnetic Field
Presented by Catherine L. Johnson

Global Environmental Change Focus Group

Schneider Lecture
From Climate Change Impacts to Climate Change Risks
Presented by Christopher B. Field

Tyndall Lecture
A Perspective on Accelerating Change
Presented by Kelly T. Redmond

Hydrology Section

Early Career Hydrologic Sciences Award
Stefano Manzoni

Horton Research Grant
Kevin Befus
Chris Gabrielli
Katherine Lininger

Hydrologic Sciences Award
Diane McKnight

Langbein Lecture*
Isotopes and Isoscapes: Tools for Testing Hydrological and Biogeochemical Models
Presented by Carol Kendall

Mineral and Rock Physics Focus Group

Mineral and Rock Physics Early Career Award
Arianna Gleason

Mineral and Rock Physics Graduate Research Award
Rebecca Fischer
Zachary Geballe

Natural Hazards Focus Group

Natural Hazards Focus Group Award for Graduate Research
Christoph Aubrecht

Nonlinear Geophysics Focus Group

Donald L. Turcotte Award
Woosok Moon

Lorenz Lecture
Random Musings on Stochastics
Presented by Koutsoyannis Demetris

Ocean Sciences Section

Ocean Sciences Voyager Award
Benjamin Horton

Carson Lecture
Nitrogen Loss Processes and Nitrous Oxide Turnover in Oceanic Oxygen Minimum Zones
Presented by Bess Ward

Sverdrup Lecture
Evaluating the Ocean’s Biological Carbon Pump
Presented by Steve Emerson

Planetary Sciences Section

Ronald Greeley Early Career Award in Planetary Science
Catherine Neish

Whipple Award
Larry Soderblom

Whipple Lecture
A Retrospective: Active ­Volatile-​­Driven Geologic Processes Across the Solar System—Lessons for Planetary Explorers
Presented by Larry Soderblom

Shoemaker Lecture*
Searching for Earth-like Planets in This Solar System and Beyond
Presented by Ellen Stofan

Seismology Section

Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award
Gregory McLaskey

Gutenberg Lecture*
New and Evolving Seismic Images of the Central Andes and Subducting Nazca Slab: 20 Years of Portable Seismology Results
Presented by Susan Beck

Space Physics and Aeronomy Section

Basu United States Early Career Award
Rebekah M. Evans

Fred L. Scarf Award
Jianqi Qin

Space Physics and Aeronomy Richard Carrington Education and Public Outreach Award
Deborah Scherrer

Sunanda and Santimay Basu Early Career Award in Sun-Earth Systems Science
John Bosco Habarulema

Nicolet Lecture*
Revelations in the Study of Geospace Variability
Presented by Maura Hagan

Van Allen Lecture*
A Century After Van Allen’s Birth: Conclusion of Reconnaissance of Radiation Belts in the Solar System
Presented by Stamatios “Tom” Krimigis

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Focus Group

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Graduate Research Award
Andrew Schaeffer

Tectonophysics Section

Jason Morgan Early Career Award
Patrick Fulton

Birch Lecture*
On the Origin of Plate Tectonics
Presented by David Bercovici

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology Section

Hisashi Kuno Award
Matthew G. Jackson

Norman L. Bowen Award
Mark Ghiorso
Richard Sack

Bowen Lecture
On the Future of Thermochemical Databases, the Development of Solution Models, and the Practical Use of Computational Thermodynamics in Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology: Can Innovations of Modern Data Science Democratize an Oligarchy?
Presented by Mark Ghiorso

Hydrothermal Fluids, Nebular Vapors, and Silicate MELTS as Seen Through the Eyes of Minerals
Presented by Richard Sack

Daly Lecture*
A Chlorine-centric Perspective on ­Fluid-​­Mediated Processes at Convergent Plate Boundaries
Presented by Jane Selverstone

Citation: Williams, D. (2014), 2014 AGU section and focus group awardees and named lecturers, Eos Trans. AGU, 95(39), 355, doi:10.1002/2014EO390012.

© 2014. American Geophysical Union. All rights reserved.

© 2014. American Geophysical Union. All rights reserved.