AGU honors logo 2019

Each year since 1962, AGU has elected as Fellows members whose visionary leadership and scientific excellence have fundamentally advanced research in their respective fields. This year, 62 members will join the 2019 class of Fellows.

This honor is bestowed on only 0.1% of AGU membership in any given year.

AGU Fellows are recognized for their scientific eminence in the Earth and space sciences. Their breadth of interests and the scope of their contributions are remarkable and often groundbreaking. Only 0.1% of AGU membership receives this recognition in any given year.

On behalf of AGU’s Honors and Recognition Committee, our Union Fellows Committee, our section Fellows committees, AGU leaders, and staff, we are immensely proud to present the 2019 class of AGU Fellows.

We appreciate the efforts of everyone who provided support and commitment to AGU’s Honors Program. Our dedicated AGU volunteers gave valuable time and energy as members of selection committees to elect this year’s Fellows. We also thank all the nominators and supporters who made this possible through their dedicated efforts to nominate and recognize their colleagues.

Honor and Celebrate Eminence at Fall Meeting

At this year’s Honors Tribute, to be held Wednesday, 11 December, at Fall Meeting 2019 in San Francisco, Calif., we will celebrate and honor the exceptional achievements, visionary leadership, talents, and dedication of 62 new AGU Fellows.

Please join us in congratulating our 2019 class of AGU Fellows, listed below in alphabetical order.

—Robin Bell, President, AGU; and Mary Anne Holmes (, Chair, Honors and Recognition Committee, AGU

Zuheir Altamimi, Institut National de l’Information Géographique et Forestière and Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris

Ronald Amundson, University of California, Berkeley

Jonathan Bamber, University of Bristol

Barbara A. Bekins, U.S. Geological Survey

Jayne Belnap, Southwest Biological Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey

Thomas S. Bianchi, University of Florida

Jean Braun, GFZ Helmholtz Centre Potsdam, and Institute of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Potsdam

Ximing Cai, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Ken Carslaw, University of Leeds

Benjamin F. Chao, Institute of Earth Sciences, Academia Sinica

Patrick Cordier, Université de Lille

Rosanne D’Arrigo, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University

Eric A. Davidson, Appalachian Laboratory, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

Gert J. de Lange, Utrecht University

Andrew Dessler, Texas A&M University

Michele K. Dougherty, Imperial College London

Joseph R. Dwyer, University of New Hampshire

James Farquhar, University of Maryland, College Park

Mei-Ching Fok, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Piers Forster, University of Leeds

Christian France-Lanord, CNRS Université de Lorraine

Antoinette B. Galvin, University of New Hampshire

Peter R. Gent, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Taras Gerya, ETH Zurich

Dennis Hansell, University of Miami

Ruth A. Harris , Earthquake Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey

Robert M. Hazen, Carnegie Institution for Science

Kosuke Heki, Hokkaido University

Karen Heywood, University of East Anglia

Russell Howard, United States Naval Research Laboratory

Alan G. Jones, Complete MT Solutions Inc. and Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies

Kurt O. Konhauser, University of Alberta

Sonia Kreidenweis, Colorado State University

Kitack Lee, Pohang University of Science and Technology

Zheng-Xiang Li, Curtin University

Jean Lynch-Stieglitz, Georgia Institute of Technology

Kuo-Fong Ma, National Central University and Academia Sinica

Reed Maxwell, Colorado School of Mines

John W. Meriwether, Clemson University (Emeritus) and New Jersey Institute of Technology

Son V. Nghiem, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Yaoling Niu, Durham University

Thomas H. Painter, Joint Institute for Regional Earth System Science and Technology, University of California, Los Angeles

Beth Parker, University of Guelph

Ann Pearson, Harvard University

Graham Pearson, University of Alberta

Lorenzo M. Polvani, Columbia University in the City of New York

Peter Reiners, University of Arizona

Yair Rosenthal, Rutgers University–New Brunswick

Osvaldo Sala, Arizona State University

Edward (Ted) Schuur, Northern Arizona University

Sybil Seitzinger, University of Victoria

Toshihiko Shimamoto, Institute of Geology, China Earthquake Administration

Adam Showman, University of Arizona

Alexander V. Sobolev, Institut des Sciences de la Terre, Université Grenoble Alpes, and Vernadsky Institute of Geochemistry and Analytical Chemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences

Carl Steefel, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

John Suppe, University of Houston

Karl E. Taylor, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Meenakshi Wadhwa, Arizona State University

Michael Walter, Carnegie Institution for Science

John Wettlaufer, Yale University and Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics

Chunmiao Zheng, Southern University of Science and Technology, Shenzhen

Tong Zhu, Peking University


Bell, R.,Holmes, M. A. (2019), 2019 class of AGU Fellows announced, Eos, 100, Published on 15 August 2019.

Text © 2019. AGU. CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.