AGU brings together a community of scientists who collaboratively advance and communicate science and its power to ensure a sustainable future. AGU’s Honors Program is committed to recognizing members and nonmembers who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of Earth and space science, to the service of the community, and to the public’s understanding and general appreciation of science.

The 2015 nominations for AGU Union medals, Fellows, awards, and prizes opened on 15 January. We urge you to take this opportunity to nominate a student, colleague, peer, or mentor whose achievements have made a difference in our community. Receiving a prestigious AGU honor can advance an individual’s career and can even enhance leadership in the scientific community.

Importance of the Program

The Honors Program has been an important service to the scientific community for decades. It not only deepens the sense of connection between AGU and the public but also showcases the value of AGU membership and reinforces AGU’s strategic goals in scientific leadership, talent pool development, and the scientific engagement of society.

The Honors Program also recognizes the importance of increasing diversity. From students and early career scientists to established leaders, the Honors Program highlights the value of contributions and their impacts on the geophysical sciences. By recognizing the best, brightest, and most innovative science in our world today, we are able to capture the imagination of the public at large and inspire the next generation of Earth and space scientists.

New Honors in 2015

New to AGU Honors this year is the Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize, or, simply, the Taira Prize. The prize is given annually to one honoree in recognition of outstanding accomplishments in ocean drilling transdisciplinary research. This prize is a partnership between AGU and the Japan Geoscience Union and is made possible through a generous donation from the Integrated Ocean Drilling Program Management International. The prize is given in honor of Dr. Asahiko Taira of the Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology.

Honors Specific to Sections and Focus Groups

In addition to Union-wide honors, AGU sections and focus groups recognize outstanding work within their scientific field by hosting nearly 25 named-lecture presentations as well as conferring more than 30 awards and prizes annually.

Awardees in various stages of their careers and named lecturers who represent some of the most innovative minds in their fields are selected for contributing outstanding work or service toward the advancement and promotion of discovery in the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity. AGU sections and focus groups will accept nominations for awards starting 15 January 2015. The submission deadline for 2015 section and focus group honors nominations is 15 April 2015.

You Make AGU’s Honors Program Successful

When submitting a nomination, please review the conflict of interest policy and the eligibility requirements listed for each individual honor at

As we enter 2015, we thank our volunteers, who committed their time and energy to support the Honors Program. We look forward to the opening of the 2015 nominations and to your support in recognizing our colleagues who are most deserving of these honors.

Samuel Mukasa, University of New Hampshire, Chair, AGU Honors and Recognition Committee; and Beth Paredes, AGU, Assistant Director, Executive Operations and Awards Administration

Citation: Mukasa, S. and B. Paredes (2015), Advancing science:  Nominate a scientist for AGU’s Honors Program, Eos, 96, doi:10.1029/2015EO022237.

Text © 2015. The authors. CC BY-NC 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.