2021 Honors AGU

On behalf of the Earth and space sciences community, we congratulate the 35 recipients who are receiving AGU’s highest honors for their excellence in scientific research, education, communication, and outreach.

These honorees—scientists, leaders, educators, journalists, and communicators—have made outstanding achievements and contributions by pushing forward the frontiers of our science. Each recipient embodies our shared vision of a thriving, sustainable, and equitable future powered by discovery, innovation, and action. These recipients have worked with integrity, respect, and collaboration while creating deep engagement in education, diversity, and outreach.

Discovery and solution science involves many individuals and teams within the community and around the world. We are grateful to our honorees’ families, friends, colleagues, and other supporters who have been and continue to be instrumental to their success.

AGU will formally recognize this year’s recipients during the #AGU21 Fall Meeting. This celebration is a chance for us to recognize the outstanding work of our colleagues and be inspired by their accomplishments and stories. We will share additional details on the event at agu.org/fall-meeting.

Finally, we are grateful to the Honors and Recognition Committee, the selection committees, nominators, nomination supporters, volunteers, and staff for their support and commitment to AGU’s Honors Program.

Please join us in congratulating our esteemed class of 2021 AGU honorees.

—Susan Lozier, President, AGU; and LaToya Myles (honors@agu.org), Chair, Honors and Recognition Committee, AGU


William Bowie Medal
James L. Burch, Southwest Research Institute

John Adam Fleming Medal
David Dunlop, University of Toronto

Walter H. Bucher Medal
Mark Harrison, University of California, Los Angeles

Maurice Ewing Medal
Eelco Johan Rohling, Australian National University

Robert E. Horton Medal
Diane M. McKnight, University of Colorado Boulder

Harry H. Hess Medal
Peter B. Kelemen, Columbia University

Roger Revelle Medal
Clara Deser, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Inge Lehmann Medal
Jean-Paul Montagner, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris

Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists
Jennifer Biddle, University of Delaware
Jacob Bortnik, University of California, Los Angeles
Anna M. Michalak, Carnegie Institution for Science

James B. Macelwane Medal

Elizabeth A. Barnes, Colorado State University
Christopher H. K. Chen, Queen Mary University of London
Ciaran J. Harman, Johns Hopkins University
Christopher T. Reinhard, Georgia Institute of Technology
Anja Schmidt, University of Cambridge

Devendra Lal Memorial Medal
Vimal Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar


Ambassador Award
Fatima F. G. Abrantes, Instituto Português do Mar e da Atmosfera
Madhulika Guhathakurta, NASA
Susan Joy Hassol, Climate Communication
Ambrose Jearld Jr., NOAA (retired) and Woods Hole Partnership Education Program
Aradhna Tripati, University of California, Los Angeles

Edward A. Flinn III Award
Bart Nijssen, University of Washington

Athelstan Spilhaus Award
Sarah Stewart Johnson, Georgetown University

Charles S. Falkenberg Award
Ryan P. Abernathey, Columbia University

International Award
Atalay Ayele, Addis Ababa University

Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award
The GLOBE Program

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Ocean Sciences
Marjolaine Krug, Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment, South Africa

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science
Roelf Du Toit Strauss, North-West University

Science for Solutions Award
Lorenzo Rosa, ETH Zurich

Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism
Mark Fischetti, Scientific American

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism – Features
Jonathan O’Callaghan, Freelance Space Journalist

David Perlman Award for Research Excellence in Science Journalism – News
Sarah Scoles, Freelance Journalist


Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize
Rosalind M. Coggon, University of Southampton

Climate Communication Prize
Andrew E. Dessler, Texas A&M University


Lozier, S., L. Myles (2021), Congratulations to the 2021 AGU Union medal, award, and prize recipients, Eos, 102, https://doi.org/10.1029/2021EO163152. Published on 15 September 2021.

Text © 2021. AGU. CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.