Credit: ©

On 1 May, the National Academy of Sciences elected 84 new members and 21 foreign associates, several of whom are members of the Earth and space science community. Newly elected members and their affiliations at the time of election are as follows: David Bercovici, Frederick W. Beinecke Professor of Geology and Geophysics at Yale University in New Haven, Conn.; Kristie A. Boering, professor of chemistry and of Earth and planetary science at University of California, Berkeley; James F. Kasting, Evan Pugh Professor in the Department of Geosciences at Pennsylvania State University, University Park; Michael Manga, professor of Earth and planetary sciences at University of California, Berkeley; Eric J. Rignot, Donald Bren Professor of Earth System Science at University of California, Irvine; Diana Harrison Wall, senior research scientist in the Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory and professor of biology and director of the School of Global Environmental Sustainability, Colorado State University, Fort Collins; and Cathy L. Whitlock, professor of Earth sciences at Montana State University in Bozeman and fellow of the Montana Institute on Ecosystems.


(2018), Honoring Earth and space scientists, Eos, 99, Published on 20 June 2018.

Text © 2018. The authors. CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.