Geology & Geophysics AGU News

2015 AGU Union Medal, Award, and Prize Recipients Announced

The world's largest organization of Earth and space scientists honors 25 exceptional scientists and journalists.

By and

The Honors and Recognition Committee and the Union selection committees are pleased to announce the recipients of the American Geophysical Union’s 2015 Union medals, awards, and prizes.

AGU’s vision is to collaboratively advance and communicate science and its power to ensure a sustainable future. Our honorees’ achievements help build the foundations on which we will realize that vision.

Profound Impact

In an environment that encourages experimentation, innovation, and the free exchange of ideas, these outstanding contributors to the Earth and space sciences thrive. Their work has a profound impact on the ways we live and think.

We thank all who have given their support and commitment to AGU’s honors program, including volunteers who serve on the medals, awards, and prizes selection committees that have chosen this year’s Union honorees. We also thank the nominators and supporters who made this all possible with their dedicated efforts to recognize their colleagues.

Celebrate at Fall Meeting

We look forward to celebrating the honorees’ breakthrough achievements and exceptional work at the Honors Ceremony and Banquet, to be held on 16 December 2015 at the Fall Meeting in San Francisco.

Please join us in congratulating our esteemed class of 2015 Union honorees listed below. Next week, on 28 July, AGU will also announce its newly elected 2015 Union Fellows—a class of 60 this year.


William Bowie Medal

Wilfried H. Brutsaert, Cornell University


James B. Macelwane Medal

Paul Cassak, West Virginia University

Bethany L. Ehlmann, California Institute of Technology

Colette L. Heald, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Matthew G. Jackson, University of California, Santa Barbara

Katharine Maher, Stanford University


John Adam Fleming Medal

Andrew F. Nagy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor


Maurice Ewing Medal

Russ E. Davis, Scripps Institution of Oceanography


Robert E. Horton Medal

Günter Blöschl, Vienna University of Technology


Harry H. Hess Medal

Claude P. Jaupart, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris


Roger Revelle Medal

Anne M. Thompson, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center


Inge Lehmann Medal

Peter Olson, Johns Hopkins University



Ambassador Award

Charles R. Chappell, Vanderbilt University

Lucile Jones, U.S. Geological Survey

Gordon McBean, University of Western Ontario


Edward A. Flinn III Award

Sonia Esperanca and Robin L. Reichlin, National Science Foundation


Charles S. Falkenberg Award

Benjamin L. Preston, Oak Ridge National Laboratory


Athelstan Spilhaus Award

Holly R. Gilbert, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center


International Award

Peter J. Webster, Georgia Institute of Technology


Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism

Andrew Revkin, The New York Times


Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism—Features

Douglas Fox, Freelance Writer


David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism—News

Sandi Doughton, The Seattle Times



The Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize

Fumio Inagaki, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology


Climate Communications Prize

Richard C. J. Somerville, Scripps Institution of Oceanography


—Margaret Leinen, AGU President, and Sam Mukasa, Chair, Honors and Recognition Committee; email: [email protected]

Citation: Leinen, M., and S. Mukasa (2015), AGU Union medal, award, and prize recipients announced, Eos, 96, doi:10.1029/2015EO033175. Published on 23 July 2015.

Text © 2015. The authors. CC BY-NC 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.