AGU Union medal, award, and prize recipients image

Each year AGU honors individuals for their outstanding achievements, contributions, and service to the Earth and space science community. AGU medals are the highest honors bestowed by the Union. They recognize individuals for their scientific body of work and sustained impact within the Earth and space science community. AGU Union awards and prizes recognize individuals who have demonstrated excellence in scientific research, education, communication, and outreach.

This distinguished group of honorees—scientists, leaders, educators, journalists, and communicators—embodies AGU’s mission of promoting discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of society.

On behalf of AGU’s Honors and Recognition Committee, the selection committees, and AGU leaders and staff, we are pleased to present the recipients of AGU’s 2018 Union medals, awards, and prizes.

We appreciate everyone who has shown support and commitment to AGU’s Honors Program. Our dedicated volunteers gave valuable time as members of selection committees to choose this year’s Union medals, awards, and prizes recipients. We also thank all the nominators and supporters who made this possible through their steadfast efforts to nominate and recognize their colleagues.

Celebrate at the Fall Meeting

We look forward to celebrating our honorees’ profound contributions at this year’s Honors Ceremony and Banquet, to be held on Wednesday, 12 December, at Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington, D. C.

Please join us in congratulating our esteemed class of 2018 Union honorees listed below.

—Eric Davidson, President, AGU; and Mary Anne Holmes (email:, Chair, Honors and Recognition Committee, AGU


William Bowie Medal
Daniel N. Baker, University of Colorado Boulder

James B. Macelwane Medal
Steven J. Davis, University of California, Irvine
Walter W. Immerzeel, Utrecht University
Isaac R. Santos, Southern Cross University
Drew L. Turner, The Aerospace Corporation, El Segundo, Calif.
Caroline Ummenhofer, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

John Adam Fleming Medal
Forrest S. Mozer, University of California, Berkeley

Walter H. Bucher Medal
Philip C. England, University of Oxford

Maurice Ewing Medal
Nicklas G. Pisias, Oregon State University

Robert E. Horton Medal
Dennis P. Lettenmaier, University of California, Los Angeles

Harry H. Hess Medal
Timothy L. Grove, Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Roger Revelle Medal
Isaac Held, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Inge Lehmann Medal
Yoshio Fukao, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)

Charles A. Whitten Medal
David T. Sandwell, University of California, San Diego

Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists
Olivier Bachmann, ETH Zurich
Endawoke Yizengaw, Boston College


Ambassador Award
Esteban Jobbágy, Universidad Nacional de San Luis and Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas
Rosaly M. C. Lopes, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
Christopher M. Reddy, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Edward A. Flinn III Award
Richard P. Hooper, Tufts University

William Kaula Award
Alberto Montanari, University of Bologna

Waldo E. Smith Award
M. Meghan Miller, UNAVCO

Charles S. Falkenberg Award
Rebecca Bergquist Neumann, University of Washington

Athelstan Spilhaus Award
C. Alex Young, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

International Award
Giuliano Francesco Panza, Accademia dei Lincei and Accademia dei XL, Rome; and Olim University of Trieste

Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award
Mark A. Chandler, Center for Climate Systems Research

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Earth Science
Ahzegbobor Philips Aizebeokhai, Covenant University

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science
Frédéric Ouattara, Université Norbert Zongo

Science for Solutions Award
Kyle Frankel Davis, Data Science Institute, Columbia University

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–Features
Douglas Fox, High Country News

David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–News
Shannon Hall, Freelance Science Journalist


Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize
Brandon Dugan, Colorado School of Mines

Climate Communication Prize
Michael E. Mann, Pennsylvania State University


Davidson, E.,Holmes, M. A. (2018), 2018 AGU Union medal, award, and prize recipients announced, Eos, 99, Published on 04 September 2018.

Text © 2018. The authors. CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.