The American Geophysical Union (AGU) sections and focus groups recognize outstanding work within their scientific fields by hosting nearly 25 named lecture presentations as well as more than 30 awards and prizes annually.

Awardees in various stages of their careers and named lecturers who represent some of the most innovative minds in their fields are selected for contributing meritorious work or service toward the advancement and promotion of discovery in the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity.

This year, the AGU Honors Program is announcing the creation of three new honors: the Dansgaard Award, the William S. and Carelyn Y. Reeburgh Lecture, and the GSSI Student Grant.

The Dansgaard Award, from the Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology section, will recognize a midcareer scientist (within 8 to 20 years postdegree) for sustained and unique contributions to paleoceanography and paleoclimatology research, such as research impact, innovative interdisciplinary work, educational accomplishments (e.g., mentoring), societal impact, exceptional promise for continued leadership, or other relevant contributions in paleoceanography or paleoclimatology.

The William S. and Carelyn Y. Reeburgh Lecture, from the Ocean Sciences and Biogeosciences sections, will recognize a midcareer scientist or senior scientist who has made significant contributions in the field of ocean sciences or biogeosciences. The goal is to create opportunities for AGU members to interact with well-known and accomplished scientists and peers by sponsoring an annual lecture at the AGU Fall Meeting, alternating between the Biogeosciences and Ocean Sciences sections.

The GSSI Student Grant, from the Near-Surface Geophysics focus group, will be awarded in recognition of a focus group student member who is performing outstanding field geophysical research using ground-penetrating radar and electromagnetic methods. The grant is being established through the generosity of Geophysical Survey Systems, Inc. (GSSI).

For additional information, please visit the Honors Program website at

—Beth Paredes, Assistant Director, Executive Operations and Awards Administration, AGU; email:

Citation: Paredes, B. (2015),  New section and focus group honors for 2015, Eos, 96, doi:10.1029/2015EO023939. Published on 13 February 2015.

Text © 2015. The authors. CC BY-NC 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.