Credit: ©

NASA selected 12 new astronaut candidates for 2 years of astronaut training on 7 June. Two of the new candidates are in the Earth sciences or allied fields: Zena Cardman has a bachelor of science degree in biology and master of science degree in marine sciences from The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Jessica Watkins earned a bachelor’s degree in geological and environmental sciences at Stanford University and a doctorate in geology from the University of California, Los Angeles.

The American Astronomical Society’s Division of Planetary Sciences announced its 2017 prize winners on 2 June. Those winners include the following: Bethany L. Ehlmann, assistant professor of planetary sciences at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, received the Harold C. Urey Prize for outstanding achievement in planetary research by an early-career scientist. Margaret G. Kivelson, professor emerita of space physics, University of California, Los Angeles, and University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, received the Gerard P. Kuiper Prize for outstanding contributions to planetary science. Louise M. Prockter, director of the Lunar and Planetary Institute, Houston, Texas, received the Harold Masursky Award for meritorious service to planetary science. Megan E. Schwamb, assistant scientist at the Gemini Observatory, Hilo, Hawaii, and Henry B. Throop, senior scientist at the Planetary Science Institute, Tucson, Ariz., each received a Carl Sagan Medal for excellence in public communication by active planetary scientists.


(2017), Honoring Earth and space scientists, Eos, 98, Published on 19 June 2017.

Text © 2017. The authors. CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.