Credit: ©

Chris Field, director of the Department of Global Ecology, Carnegie Institution for Science at Stanford University, received the fifth annual Stephen H. Schneider Award for Outstanding Climate Science Communication from Climate One at The Commonwealth Club of California in San Francisco on 15 December 2015.

The Society of Exploration Geophysics (SEG) announced the following 2015 honors and awards recipients: Geoffrey Dorn, of TerraSpark Geosciences, LLC, in Westminster, Colo., received the Cecil Green Enterprise Award; Heloise Lynn, of Lynn Inc. in La Veta, Colo., was honored with the Reginal Fessenden Award; Manika Prasad, of the Colorado School of Mines in Golden, and Jie Zhang, of the University of Science and Technology in Hefei, China, were each recognized with Outstanding Educator Awards; H. Justus Rozemond, a geophysicist and musician, received the Virgil Kauffman Gold Medal. Manik Talwani, professor emeritus of Rice University in Houston, Texas, was awarded the Maurice Ewing Medal. SEG announced these honors on 3 November 2015.

Lucy Jones, of the U.S. Geologic Survey, received the Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medal from the Department of the Interior on 7 October 2015.

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) voted the following candidates into office last fall: Ko Barret, of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Washington, D. C., as IPCC vice-chair; Eduardo Calvo Buendia, of Peru’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as IPCC cochair for the Task Force Bureau; Valérie Masson-Delmotte, of the Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l’Environnement in France, as an IPCC cochair for Working Group 1; Thelma Krug, of the National Institute for Space Research in São Paulo, Brazil, as an IPCC vice-chair; Hoesung Lee, of Korea University’s Graduate School of Energy and Environment in the Republic of Korea, as the IPCC chair; Hans-Otto Pӧrtner, of the University of Bremen in Bremen, Germany, as an IPCC cochair for Working Group 2; Debra Roberts, of the Environmental Planning and Climate Protection Department in Durban, South Africa, as an IPCC cochair for Working Group 2; Priyadarshi R. Shukla, of the Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad in Ahmedabad, India, as an IPCC cochair for Working Group 2; Jim Skea, of Imperial College London in the United Kingdom, as an IPCC cochair for Working Group 3; Youba Sokona, of the South Centre in Geneva, Switzerland, as an IPCC vice-chair; Kiyoto Tanabe, of the Institute for Global Environmental Strategy in Hayama, Japan, as an IPCC cochair for the Task Force Bureau; Panmao Zhai, of the Chinese Academy of Meteorological Sciences in Beijing, China, as an IPCC cochair for Working Group 1. The election took place on 6 October 2015.

The IPCC also awarded scholarships last fall under its IPCC Scholarship Programme to 10 Ph.D. students from developing countries: Cocou Jaures Amegnaglo of Benin, Thushani Suleka Madhubhashini Elepathage of Sri Lanka, Md Amirul Islam of Bangladesh, Peter Kabano of Uganda, Kholoud Kahime of Morocco, Rasmila Kawan of Nepal, Adu Metaliu of Albania, Mulugeta Gemi Mokria of Ethiopia, Christine Onyango of Kenya, and Adriana Maria Torres-Ballesteros of Colombia. The IPCC presented the awards on 2 October 2015.

Ken Wood, of Lifetime Wells for Ghana, received a Life Member Award from the National Ground Water Association.

Zhongbo Yu, of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, received the John Hem Award for Excellence in Science and Engineering from the National Ground Water Association.

Bilal Haq, an AGU member, was elected to the European Academy of Sciences.

Citation: AGU (2016), Honoring Earth and space scientists, Eos, 97, doi:10.1029/2016EO046543. Published on 22 February 2016.

Text © 2016. The authors. CC BY-NC 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.