AGU 2018 honors image

Each year since 1962, AGU has elected as Fellows members whose visionary leadership and scientific excellence have fundamentally advanced research in their respective fields. This year, 62 members will make up the 2018 class of Fellows.

This honor is bestowed on only 0.1% of AGU membership in any given year.

AGU Fellows are recognized for their scientific eminence in the Earth and space sciences. Their breadth of interests and the scope of their contributions are remarkable and often groundbreaking. Only 0.1% of AGU membership receives this recognition in any given year.

On behalf of the AGU Honors and Recognition Committee, the Union Fellows Committee, the section Fellows committees, and AGU leaders and staff, we are immensely proud to present the 2018 class of AGU Fellows.

We appreciate the efforts of everyone who provided support and commitment to AGU’s Honors Program. Our dedicated volunteers gave valuable time and energy as members of selection committees to elect this year’s Fellows. We also thank all the nominators and supporters who made this possible through their dedicated efforts to nominate and recognize their colleagues.

Honor and Celebrate Eminence at Fall Meeting

At this year’s Honors Tribute, to be held Wednesday, 12 December, at Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington, D. C., we will celebrate and honor the exceptional achievements, visionary leadership, talents, and dedication of 62 new AGU Fellows.

Please join us in congratulating our 2018 class of AGU Fellows, listed below in alphabetical order.

—Eric A. Davidson, President, AGU; and Mary Anne Holmes (email:, Chair, Honors and Recognition Committee, AGU

Jess F. Adkins, California Institute of Technology

Donald F. Argus, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Paul A. Baker, Duke University

Cecilia M. Bitz, University of Washington

Nina C. Buchmann, ETH Zurich

Marc W. Caffee, Purdue University

Gregory R. Carmichael, University of Iowa

Andrew Cohen, University of Arizona

Patrick M. Crill, Bolin Centre for Climate Research, Stockholm University

Thomas L. Delworth, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Donna Eberhart-Phillips, GNS Science and University of California, Davis

Kerry Emanuel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Andrew T. Fisher, University of California, Santa Cruz

Marilyn L. Fogel, University of California, Riverside

Hayley J. Fowler, University of Newcastle

S. Peter Gary, Los Alamos National Laboratory (Retired)

Steven J. Ghan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Joris Gieskes, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego

Karl-Heinz Glassmeier, Technische Universität Braunschweig

Dorothy K. Hall, University of Maryland and Cryospheric Sciences Laboratory, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Charles Franklin Harvey, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Sidney R. Hemming, Columbia University in the City of New York

Benjamin P. Horton, Nanyang Technological University

Bruce F. Houghton, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

Catherine Jeandel, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Université de Toulouse

Tomoo Katsura, University of Bayreuth

Kimitaka Kawamura, Chubu University

Simon L. Klemperer, Stanford University

Cin-Ty Lee, Rice University

Jos Lelieveld, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry and the Cyprus Institute

Philippe Lognonné, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, Université Paris Diderot

Timothy William Lyons, University of California, Riverside

Trevor McDougall, University of New South Wales

Bruno Merz, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences and University of Potsdam

Stephen A. Montzka, Earth System Research Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Rumi Nakamura, Space Research Institute, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Heidi Nepf, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Victor P. Pasko, Pennsylvania State University

Adina Paytan, University of California, Santa Cruz

Christa D. Peters-Lidard, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Balaji Rajagopalan, University of Colorado Boulder

Cesar R. Ranero, Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies

Geoffrey D. Reeves, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Josh Roering, University of Oregon

David B. Rowley, University of Chicago

Vincent J. M. Salters, Florida State University

Gavin A. Schmidt, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies

Richard Seager, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University

Nikolai Shapiro, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

Eli A. Silver, University of California, Santa Cruz

Mark Simons, California Institute of Technology

Bradley S. Singer, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Lee Slater, Rutgers University–Newark

David G. Tarboton, Utah State University

Doerthe Tetzlaff, Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries, Humboldt University, and University of Aberdeen

Friedhelm von Blanckenburg, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences

Christopher R. Webster, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Naohiro Yoshida, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Vladimir E. Zakharov, University of Arizona

Fuqing Zhang, Pennsylvania State University

Pei-Zhen Zhang, Sun Yat-sen University

Francis W. Zwiers, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium, University of Victoria


Davidson, E.,Holmes, M. A. (2018), 2018 class of AGU Fellows announced, Eos, 99, Published on 09 August 2018.

Text © 2018. The authors. CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.