Geology & Geophysics Milestones

Honoring AGU Members

Earth and space scientists in the news.


Several AGU members received the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s (NOAA) Bronze Medal and Distinguished Career Awards on 20 May.

Among NOAA’s Bronze Medal recipients are Andria Bilich, geodesist in the National Ocean Service (NOS) Geosciences Research Division; Russell Brainard, division chief and supervisory oceanographer at NOAA’s Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center, Honolulu, Hawaii; Mathias Collins, environmental scientist in the National Marine Fisheries Service’s Habitat Restoration Division; Mark Eakin, coordinator of NOAA’s Coral Reef Watch program; Hernan E. Garcia, oceanographer at NOAA’s National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS); Jeff Key, branch chief of the Advanced Satellite Products Branch, Center for Satellite Applications and Research (STAR), at the University of Wisconsin–Madison’s Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies; Istvan Laszlo, research scientist in STAR’s Meteorology and Climatology Division; Gerald L. Mader, supervisory geodesist at NOS; Huan Meng, research scientist in STAR’s Satellite Climate Studies Branch; Arthur R. Parsons, oceanographer at NESDIS; Giovanni Sella, program manager for NOS’s Continuously Operating Reference Station; Menghua Wang, branch chief of STAR’s Satellite Oceanography and Climate Division; Xiangqian “Fred” Wu, general physical scientist at STAR; and Xiwu “Jerry” Zhan, research scientist in STAR’s Satellite Meteorology and Climatology Division.

Among the NOAA Distinguished Career Award recipients are Frank Aikman, chief of Marine Modeling and Analysis Programs at NOS; and Mark DeMaria, technology and science branch chief at the National Weather Service’s National Hurricane Center in Miami, Fla.

Citation: Anonymous (2014), Honors, Eos Trans. AGU, 95(21), 176, doi:10.1002/2014EO210004.

© 2014. American Geophysical Union. All rights reserved.