Sir Brian J. Hoskins, chair of Imperial College London’s Grantham Institute for Climate Change and professor of meteorology at University of Reading, has been awarded the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) Gold Medal for “his scientific contributions that have been pioneering and profound in almost all aspects of the atmospheric and climatological sciences, with strong linkages to IUGG and its Associations.”

Jerry Miller, formerly president of the consulting firm Science for Decisions, has been appointed as the National Research Council’s director of science and technology for sustainability.

James O’Brien, Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor of meteorology and oceanography, emeritus, at Florida State University’s Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies, has been selected as a fellow by IUGG.

Stephen Sparks, a volcanologist at University of Bristol, has won the 2015 Vetlesen Prize for his contributions to the field of volcanology. Sparks will be awarded a medal and $250,000 at a ceremony in New York in June.

Citation: AGU (2015), Honoring AGU members, Eos, 96, doi:10.1029/2015EO023935. Published on 13 February 2015.

Text © 2015. The authors. CC BY-NC 3.0
Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.