Several AGU members were honored by the American Meteorological Society for their achievements. These members include the following.

Bin Wang, professor and department chair of the Department of Meteorology at the University of Hawai`i at Manoa, received the Carl-­Gustaf Rossby Research Medal “for creative insights leading to important advances in the understanding of tropical and monsoonal processes and their predictability.”

Frank Wentz, president of Remote Sensing Systems, has been awarded the Verner E. Suomi Award for his work to “accurately retrieve geophysical parameters from satellite microwave instruments and using these measurements to elucidate climate trends.”

Glenn R. Flierl, professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, received the Henry Stommel Research Award for “fundamental insights into the dynamics of vortices and geostrophic turbulence and their impact on marine ecosystems.”

Dixon Matlock Butler, an independent consultant and former staff professional on the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations, was awarded the Cleveland Abbe Award for Distinguished Service to Atmospheric Sciences for his “dedicated leadership in Earth observation, science education, and federal management of science that has had lasting impact on the development of Earth system science.”

Eugenia Kalnay, distinguished professor in the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science at the University of Maryland, has received the Joanne Simpson Mentorship Award “for effectively mentoring many early career scientists, with her unstinting generosity of time and attention in providing advice, encouragement, leadership, and inspiration.”

Yi Ming, head of the atmospheric physics and climate group at Princeton University, has received the Henry G. Houghton Award for “major advances in the understanding and modeling of the role of atmospheric aerosols in the radiative forcing of regional and global climate.”

Andrew Hogg, associate professor at the Australian National University, has been awarded the Nicholas P. Fofonoff Award “for fundamental advances in understanding the impact of ocean eddies on the large-scale circulation, flow through straits, and turbulent mixing.”

Xuhui Lee, professor of meteorology at Yale University, has received the Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biometeorology “for masterfully combining theory and observations to gain new insights into the nature and consequences of biosphere-atmosphere interactions.”

Dale A. Quattrochi, senior research scientist at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, was awarded the Helmut E. Landsberg Award for “original contributions and leadership in using high-­resolution thermal remote sensing data to understand the urban heat island effect and its environmental consequences.”

Fuqing Zhang, professor of meteorology at Pennsylvania State University, received the Banner I. Miller Award for “valuable insights into incorporating real-time airborne Doppler radar measurements via ensemble data assimilation, leading to improvements in forecasts of tropical cyclone track and intensity.”

Anthony Wimmers, a researcher in the Space Science and Engineering Center at the University of Wisconsin–­Madison, has received the Special Award as part of the University of Wisconsin–­Madison Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies Tropical Cyclone Group “for providing the weather community with valuable tropical cyclone-­related satellite information and derived products for over two decades.”

John Fasullo, project scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research, has received the Editor’s Award for “timely and thoughtful reviews of a large number of manuscripts.”

Courtney Schumacher, associate professor in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at Texas A&M University, was awarded the Editor’s Award for “high-­quality reviews that help authors place their work into a broader context.”

James McWilliams, professor in the Department of Atmospheric and Ocean Sciences at the University of California, Los Angeles, was awarded the Editor’s Award for “timely, high-­quality reviews of manuscripts related to numerical ocean modeling.”

Judith Lean, senior scientist at the Naval Research Laboratory, was awarded the Editor’s Award for “expert reviews that were always constructive, probing, and encouraging.”

Faisal Hossain, associate professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle, was awarded the Editor’s Award for “numerous detailed, constructive, and timely reviews, often submitted well before the due date.”

Allison Wing has received the Max A. Eaton Student Prize for her paper “Physical mechanisms controlling self-­aggregation of convection in idealized numerical modeling simulations.”

Paul B. Shepson, professor in the Department of Chemistry at Purdue University, has been awarded the Walter Orr Roberts Lecturer in Interdisciplinary Sciences “for outstanding and unique contributions to advancing our understanding of the atmospheric processes that govern the Arctic atmospheric boundary layer.”

Ngar-Cheung Lau, professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, has received the Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer for 2015 “for pioneering work on atmospheric circulation systems, from oceanic storm tracks to atmospheric ‘bridges’ connecting ocean anomalies in different basins, using observations and global models.”

Citation: Anonymous (2014), Honors, Eos Trans. AGU, 95(42), 371, DOI: 10.1002/2014EO420005.

© 2014. American Geophysical Union. All rights reserved.

© 2014. American Geophysical Union. All rights reserved.